Animals Always

I just read an article in the St. Louis Post-Dispatch yesterday about how the Saint Louis Zoo has two baby lion lion cubs, named Mtai and Serafina, that were born this past Valentine’s Day. As you can imagine, they are adorable. They’re not old enough to be seen by the public yet, but I hope that the next time I’m in St. Louis I’ll get to go see them. I mean, what could be cuter than this?

Mtai and Serafina playing together at the St. Louis Zoo. Photo by Johnny Andrews

The cubs are being raised by Zoo staff because the mother was unable to produce enough milk. Unfortunately, the two other cubs born in the litter did not survive due to the same problem.

Reading about the lion cubs made me realize how much I miss going to the Saint. Louis Zoo. The Zoo is one of St. Louis’s best attractions. It’s consistently rated among the top zoos in the country, and best of all, it’s completely free.

I used to go there all the time with my parents and siblings. I remember going to see Raja, an elephant born at the Zoo in 1992, and then seeing him grow up and have his own baby elephants, Maliha, Jade, and Kenzi. Raja was the first Asian Elephant born at the St. Louis Zoo.

The Saint Louis Zoo itself was born out of the 1904 World’s Fair, which was held in St. Louis. The Fair featured a “walk-through flight cage” that the city of St. Louis bought after the Fair, rather than letting it go back to Washington, D.C. The flight cage became the major motivating factor in the decision to build a zoo in the city, and the cage is still there to this day. The Saint Louis Zoo was the first zoo in the world to be municipally supported.

As I have grown up, the Zoo has grown with me. I have seen the additions of new exhibits such as the “River’s Edge,” featuring elephants and hippos, as well as new architecture, such as the animal sculpture below that is now at the Zoo’s entrance.The sculpture, called Animals Always, is the largest sculpture at any public zoo in the United States.

The Animals Always steel sculpture at the Saint Louis zoo is 130 feet long, 36 feet high, and weighs 100 tons. Photo by zoochat.com.

I also remember when the zoo opened its “Penguin and Puffin Coast,” an indoor area that you can walk through, featuring penguins and puffins that climb on rocks, dive, and swim through the water, just feet away from where you’re standing. Penguin and Puffin Coast is a fan favorite on St. Louis Summer days, because the exhibit is kept at cool temperatures. There is almost always a line there. Check out this video of the exhibit from the Zoo’s Web site:

Even though the Zoo is great to visit as a little kid, it’s also a fun place to go with friends, when you’re older. I usually try to take all my out-of-town visitors there.

My favorite animals to see are the orangutans, who are often seen dancing or imitating onlookers, the giraffes, who will come up to the fence to greet you and get close enough to touch (but don’t touch them!), and the lions and tigers who rule “Big Cat Country.” I also like encountering the peacocks that roam freely throughout the grounds.

As Former St. Louis Zoo Director George Vierheller said, “There are two things a lively city needs–a good zoo and a good baseball team.” I wholeheartedly agree, and if you read my last post, you’ll see that St. Louis has both.


About stlconfidential

I am a Midwesterner at heart, living in Washington D.C. I am also a graduate student at GW's School of Media and Public Affairs, interested in political communication, social media, and baseball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Animals Always

  1. j.r. says:

    This post will have me driving to the StL zoo to see the newest babies ASAP. The lion cubs couldn’t possibly be cuter, and our zoo is to be commended for the care provided to all of our cherished animals. Also, the St. Louis zoo has a presence abroad, helping to set up animal sanctuaries for many endangered species….Among many cherished St. Louis Landmarks, our zoo will always be my favorite. Thanks for highlighting it Rach!

  2. HK says:

    They are so so so cute!!! If I have a chance to visit St. Louis, I will def visit the zoo! 🙂

  3. Lynn Evans says:

    Thanks for sharing the super cute pictures of the lion cubs! They are so incredibly cute. They remind me of the darling baby pandas that use to be at the National Zoo (Mei Xiang and Tian Tian). My favorite attraction at the St. Louis Zoo is the Stringrays at Caribbean Cove. I think stingrays are really fascinating creatures and love that you can feed them at the Cove. You can learn more here: http://www.stlzoo.org/about/contact/pressroom/pressreleases/stingrays-at-caribbean-cove-press-materials/.

  4. farmtoforkdc says:

    I loved this! I have never been to the St Louis Zoo but it is now on my to-do list. Have you visited the National Zoo here in D.C.? In 2010 they had SEVEN lion cubs – http://nationalzoo.si.edu/Animals/GreatCats/LionUpdates/default.cfm! (Also, I volunteer at the National Zoo on the weekends and whole-heartedly recommend it if you are an animal lover!)

  5. Kate says:

    Those lion cubs – adorable!! How do I go about applying for that woman’s job who’s in the room with them???

  6. NoTimeFor10 says:

    They are so cute! I was actually just thinking the other day that I should go by the DC zoo sometime soon before it gets dreadfully hot outside. While I still haven’t been to St. Louis, your posts make me want to take a short weekend trip there. This is another fun activity to add to the checklist 🙂

  7. This seems to be an all too common problem in captivity for baby animals. What’s up with that, Mom? Maybe there will be a cam just like there is for Siku http://www.polarbearcam.com/

Leave a Reply

