Shh!…

I’m going to let you in on a little secret:

Contrary to popular belief, the city of St. Louis, Missouri, my hometown, is NOT in the South.

It is also not:

-Full of cornfields

-Boring

-Just a place in between where you are and where you’re trying to get to (though The Onion would disagree)

-Lacking in young professionals

I may be a little biased, but I am going to use this blog as an opportunity to showcase the best things about the city I love (the Arch, the 2011 World Champion St. Louis Cardinals, and the Fox Theater, to name a few). I will be discussing people, places, and things to do in the city, as well differences between life here in D.C. and in the Midwest (I have spent the last six years in college and grad school in Philadelphia and Washington D.C.).

I am living proof that, sure enough, there is life between New York City and Los Angeles. St. Louis may not be the sexiest destination in the country, but it is definitely worth visiting. It is my hope that after you read this blog, you will at least give the city a second thought, instead of overlooking it. In the words of Aaron Perlut, a contributor to Forbes, “St. Louis doesn’t suck.” It’s actually a pretty cool place.

About stlconfidential

I am a Midwesterner at heart, living in Washington D.C. I am also a graduate student at GW's School of Media and Public Affairs, interested in political communication, social media, and baseball.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shh!…

  1. Confession: I just realized a few days ago that big arch thing was in St. Louis… which is in Missouri…

    I’m ashamed.

    But determined to find out all of the wonderful things that STL has to offer 🙂 (with your help, obviously).

    My friend Bri is out there for law school now and says it’s an adjustment from Penn. But you would know alllll about that 🙂

  2. We always hear about the “big” and “glamorous” cities like New York and LA and Chicago..but I’m really excited to learn about a city that is not always on people’s minds, but I’m sure, has a lot to offer! If I ever visit St. Louis, I am going to use this blog as my travel guide 🙂

  3. evanstiernan says:

    I am so glad that you are taking the time to write about the “Gateway to the West.” St. Louis is really a very cool city and I am glad you are giving it its due recognition. One of my best friends attended Washington University in St. Louis to get her Masters in Social Work, so I made numerous trips out there to visit her and had a blast exploring the city.

    Here are a few of my favorite things about St Louis:

    Sophia M. Sachs Butterfly House – More than a thousand live tropical butterflies fly freely in this glass conservatory.

    The Great Forest Park Balloon Race & Glow – An annual event where dozens of world-class balloon pilots compete in a race. Of course it’s more than just a race. The evening before the competition, the Balloon Glow is held. During this event the pilots congregate on the Central Field of the park and inflate their balloons (but don’t take off). When it gets dark, the glow of the balloons creates a spectacular site.

    Fritz Root Beer – Delicious soda made in St. Louis. What can I say it just tastes better than Bartz and A&W.

    Jilly’s Cupcake Bar and Cafe – Sorry folks these gigantic, decadent cupcakes put all my favorite DC Cupcake stores to shame – especially Georgetown Cupcake (I know these might be fighting words), but If i’m paying $5.00 for a cupcake, I want unique flavors – the one’s I can’t make at home – and I want it to be so big I can’t finish it in one sitting.

  4. Kate says:

    I fully agree – the midwest is the BEST! I’m from Cincinnati, and midwesterners are some of the nicest people around… I look forward to reading more about good old St Louis.

  5. NoTimeFor10 says:

    I have never been to St. Louis but had a lot of college friends that were from that area (I went to Miami University). I’m originally from Kentucky and notice the biggest difference between Kentucky and D.C. by peoples’ attitudes. At least what I’ve experienced, people in D.C. are not as friendly (there are friendly people here obviously, but I’m speaking in general terms). I’d be interested to hear your thoughts on the difference of peoples’ attitudes between D.C. and St. Louis.

Leave a Reply

